I don't see why I should go on.

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by M4321, May 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. M4321

M4321 New Member

Hi, this is my first posting here so I'm not quite sure if I'm doing this right. I graduated law school 2 years ago but have yet to find a job as a lawyer. It has always been my dream to be a lawyer and I've dedicated so much of my life to trying to accomplish it. The prospect of not being able to do it absolutely devastating. I don't see why I should have to continue on when I know I'm not going to have to live a life that I do not want to have and will always hate. I know that sounds extreme but I honestly feel that if I cannot be a lawyer then I will never be happy again for the rest of my life, and I don't see the point in continuing to engage in such a terrible life.

2. total eclipse

total eclipse SF Friend Staff Alumni

Can you not set up a private business of your own and get clients that way i don't know if that is possible or do some volunteer work to get the job experiance that is being looked for

3. M4321

M4321 New Member

I do clerk for an arbitrator, but that's only part time work and not a long term solution. I have thought about starting my own practice but that's a lot harder than you might think. I'm not confident that I have the money right now to pay for rent or that I would have a strong enough client base.

4. total eclipse

total eclipse SF Friend Staff Alumni

i do understand i guess one would have to build up a client base before attempting to open ones own business I do hope you can find perhaps a partnership to help share the bills

5. M4321

M4321 New Member