I don't want to deal with legal/divorce stuff & my father anymore

Discussion in 'Help Me! I Need to Talk to Someone.' started by sa-chan, Jul 18, 2016.

1. sa-chan

sa-chan Active Member

I guess this is going to be a bit negative so a (small apology) in advance but I really have to vent my mood just dropped very hard even in my eyes.

I'm still studying for some big exams and now my father just called me about some legal stuff again (I won't go too much into detail for privacy's sake, but just for context I live in central Europe). Basically it's about him not being able to pay my allowance anymore (he's unemployed) which currently ends up racking up debts on his side. He's been talking around stuff for half an hour but I think basically he wants me to come to his attorney and have me sign something (still not sure what but I guess it might in some way state that I don't want the allowance even though I would still get it). I feel my father has kind of tried manipulating me but I fear a lawyer might be even worse. I'm not going to sign if it means not having a replacement for the money. But then again he's now threatening with suicide.

Basically my father is using me for a new round of divorce fun?! Should I just start to completely ignore him? (My brother would get really angry I guess and I don't want to be mean to him.) I can't afford an attorney but I can't trust my father one's at all.

I will probably bring it up to my mom (nice try dad telling me not to tell her) but she will likely tell me to just not do anything which is easy to say for her since she doesn't have to deal with my father like I have to. Or she will get angry and rant about my father for hours.

Worst of all I don't have time for this shit. It already cost me three hours because of the resulting mood and I really have to study (otherwise I'm again one year further away from financial independence).

I really don't want to deal with people anymore it's killing me.