I feel empty

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by carbon, Nov 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. carbon

carbon Member

I've never been good at expressing my feelings, so please bear with me.

Lately I've been feeling very lonely and depressed. This isn't an entirely new thing though. I've felt like this for much of my life, just never so intensely and for such a long time. When I was young my parents divorced, and my mother was active in the military, so I usually went to a new school every couple of years or so. I am not good at making friends, so I was very lonely as a kid. I really don't remember much of my childhood, looking back it just seems like a blurry slideshow with brief sob scenes.

But up until now I've dealt with that. We eventually stopped moving, and I found my social niche in my new school. I managed to function socially more or less. I've had my bad days, but the last (what was it?) 8 years since I've been in one place have mostly worked out for me.

But recently I feel like I'm having a bad day. Only the next day is bad, and the next, and the next. I still don't have many friends, and the few that I do have I feel I am growing distant from. I feel insignificant; like no one sincerely cares about me (I don't even think I take myself seriously.) My mother and step-father come home and lock themselves in their room, and I do too. What else do I have to do? I occupy most of my time playing reading or playing video games. The only two people I think would miss me if I were gone are my two younger brothers. I feel so out of place and unwanted, and it hurts.