I feel I am at the end

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by unsure113, Apr 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. unsure113

unsure113 New Member

I am in my mid 30s. I've been unemployed for 2.5 years now. Was laid off and never really was able to find another job. Partly because I was too depressed and partly because no one was really hiring in my field during these times. I graduated from college with a Computer science degree and worked as a software engineer. During the times where I actively looked for a job, all the serious leads I had backed out as the companies were beginning process of laying off.

I've been living off my 401k and credit cards, but now the 401k is all gone and cc's are pretty much maxed. Its funny I didnt even buy anything, just mostly used it to pay the mortgage and bills. Looking back, I should have just let the house go a long time ago, but I guess I was too proud to admit it. I think by next month, my house will go into foreclosure process. I owe more on the mortgage than I can sell it for.

So if I were to continue with my life, I will be facing losing my home (I'm ok with that), losing my car (it'll eventually get repossesd) and filing for chapter 7 bankruptcy (owe about 40k in CC debt). I think I can eventually recover from that, even though it will take me a long time.
    But I really do not want to work as a software engineer. That field I believe is pretty much dead and I cannot think of 1 happy day during the 10 years I worked in that field area. I want to change my career but I do not know to what. I thought about something in the medical field like pharmacy but I dont know if I am even good at that.