I feel I've ruined my life

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Aggregate, Nov 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Aggregate

Aggregate New Member

Since I graduated from high school, I've been goofing off. I spent four years at college, taking bs classes just to give the impression to my parents that I was doing something with my life, when really I was just drinking, doing drugs and partying. My university gave all my tuition for free, so I just dilly dallied through all my classes like college would last forever. When some of my friends were already graduating, I was still taking core classes. Eventually, the university had it and stopped all my financial aid. I was officially a drop out. So did I tell my parents? No...I lied to them. For the next three years, I continued telling them I was going to college, going so far as to say I graduated but I decided to hold off from walking to pursue another degree. During these three years, I pursued a career in music, thinking that as long as I made it, lying to them would be worth it, and I'd have an excuse to drop out. Well, we can all guess how that turned out. I found moderate success, even getting radio play. However, to fund my foray into music, I was living off of credit cards. Lots of them. Much like lying to my parents, i felt it was all just an investment to my future career as a rich producer, when in actuality, that story rarely happens. Well, here I am now, at 25. I have no college degree, currently filing bankruptcy over 20k debt, and my mom is asking to see my diploma after realizing her son has been going to college for seven years and yet can only get a technician job.