I feel lost, alone, and utterly worthless

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by snowgem93, Jan 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. snowgem93

snowgem93 New Member

I want to die.
    It's as as simple as that, but I'm afraid, which is why I'm writing this post. I don't have anyone that I can talk to about my feelings. I don't think anyone I know would believe that I felt this way, and if I mentioned it they would probably think that I was being melodramatic or having a laugh.
    I'm going to tell you what happened to lead me to this point. I don't expect anyone to read this, but the fact I'm writing it down already feels like a weight has been lifted.

I'm 20 years old, and I'm studying at university. I'm not a genius but iv always done well at school in my academic and my extra-curricular activities. This has always made me feel a little isolated. I used to think it didn't matter, one day I would be successful and have a great job that I love and that's when I'd meet the people who would matter to me. My parents have always been a little pushy. My mum went to Cambridge university to study medicine and for as long as I can remember that was kind of the path I was on too.... As it happens I'm at a university in London, studying a subject completely different to medicine! I've studied dancing since the age of two, and I have also studied piano, cello and singing. I can remember when mum asked me what instrument I wanted to learn, and I said guitar - because the guitar teacher could play postman pat mainly I think - and she said, what about cello? Because she had always wanted to play cello. So I took up the cello. I was never great at it, but I was good enough to play in orchestra, and I was preparing for my grade 8, but then I came to university and I haven't really picked it up in the last year that much.