I guess this can serve as my introduction

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Nullifidian, Jul 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nullifidian

Nullifidian Member

I've had suicidal thoughts more or less constantly since I was eight years old. There was a history of abuse in my family stretching back to as far as I can remember, at four years old, up until the day I moved out. From the early days, it was verbal/emotional abuse and physical abuse, then it switched to just the former once I got up the courage to fight back against the physical abuse. That was when I was 16 or 17. It hurts even to scratch the surface like this, and remembering anything from my childhood is gazing into a swirling vortex from hell—I don't even want to look for a second. Suffice it to say, I don't even know how I've survived so long: I'm 31 years old now.

This last semester of school (I'm still a community college undergraduate, because I put my studies on hold to move elsewhere) ended in me getting put on academic probation for a year, not because of bad grades, but rather the absence of grades. I get As when I can finish out a semester, which is rarely. Most of the time I withdraw from all my classes in a fit of depression. So now I have to sit out a year, and then beg them for re-admittance later, which they may or may not grant, or go to a different school.

Either way seems humiliating, and I'm not sure if I even want to return to school given the fact that I regard each and every major I've tried out as having ended in failure. I think it's a personal failing that I wasn't able to complete these semesters, and instead ran away from them so many times that in many cases I ended up excluded from classes due to my school's policy of "repetition violations" (withdrawing twice from a class meant that one was excluded from that class).