I Have Never Done This Before

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by Godsdrummer, Dec 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Godsdrummer

Godsdrummer Guest

When I had my worst attempt last year that landed me in the pysch ward at my local hospital, I was assigned a Pdoc.

I was supposed to follow up with him and never did keep that appointment.

So this whole time since....as I have struggled to find some happiness, and continue to live on this earth, I have done so, with the Grace of God, the fellowship of AA, and you guys!

Now, tonight after work, I am going to see my Pdoc. Crap, where do I begin?

Parents?
    Winter?
    Job?
    Physical problems?
    Suicidal Ideation?

Anyway....just thought I would share that

2. molotov

molotov Well-Known Member

hi FPS,

hey, congrats! i am in a similar boat, i have my first therapist appointment ever tomorrow and i don't really know how to start either.

what i am trying to do today is write down all the things i want my therapist to know... not so i have some big speech planned but just because

1) otherwise i will forget something or get off on a million tangents (like my posts do) or not explain myself clearly and then get frustrated when i am misunderstood.. er, my appointment is not going to happen in my native language so that is an extra factor, but the sentiment would apply either way.

and

2) i know that i am super duper hardcore wired never to tell anyone anything and i am afraid my relationship with my pdoc is compromised because of it. (he diagnosed and now treats my add, but he doesn't think i am depressed, he thinks i feel guilty and embarrassed all the time because i was raised lutheran. good times.) so i really want to finally force myself to get as much out as possible, stop waiting for it to go away.