I have no good reason to want to suicide other than I am dead inside

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Valteron, Jun 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Valteron

Valteron Well-Known Member

I think I am very different from most of the people here, who sound like they are young, perhaps students under stress in school and such. So it is unlikely many posters will identify with me.

I am a 60-year-old man. I am university-educated. I am retired on a good pension. I have a nice condo in the city and a country home. I retired at 56, BTW. I work part-time as a simultaneous interpreter. I am not rich, but with my pension and my income from interpreting, I make close to $100,000 per year. I am in excellent health.

About 2 years ago I started thinking more and more about catching the bus.

Why? Because nothing in life appeals to me, and nothing interests me. I keep getting this creepy feeling that I have already died inside and that my body just has to catch up.

I keep thinking about suicide, and it comforts me. It is as if for once in my life I would descend into the perfect sleep from which I would never awake. I see it as the most wonderful and perfect liberation.

I do not believe in an after-life. I Before I was born in 1948, I was non-existant for billions of years. After I die, the world will go on without me for many billions of years. Non-existence is my natural state, when you think about it.:huh:

Every night, as I go to sleep, I think about death and I recite the verse from Keats' Ode to a Nightingale:

Darkling I listen and for many a time
    I have been half in love with easeful death
    Called him soft names in many a mused rhyme
    To take into the air my quiet breath
    Now more than ever seems it rich to die
    To cease upon the midnight with no pain.​

The idea of death is beautiful warming, calming, sublime. I can't stop thinking about it and I don't want to.