I just can't get over it...

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by ziploc_bag, Oct 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ziploc_bag

ziploc_bag Active Member

One of my favorite teachers in high school has this thing every year where past students come to talk to current students about what college is like. I went to it for the past 4 years since I left high school. I did it mostly because I wanted to see him again. I wanted to talk to him, because I felt like I trusted him. I admired him and looked up to him as a teacher, and while he and I didn’t have that special student-teacher bond that some of the other students had, there were moments where he genuinely noticed me and expressed concern for me, something that my other teachers had never considered doing, seeing as I was a straight-A student, quiet, and never caused much trouble. He knew something was up though with how stressed I was with my parent’s divorce and custody battles and whatnot, and he would ask me if I was okay. He was an all-around cool teacher, and I loved being in his class. At the end of my senior year, he gave me a hug and some advice.

Since then I kept coming back for the annual thing he holds for his students. Each time I would feel like I’d come there so me and him could “bond” a bit but each time I was the same timid and quiet kid I was in high school, even if I had things I wanted to ask him about teaching or life. During my third visit one year I was so disappointed with not having opened up, I sent him an email later that day, spilling my guts and confiding in him some of my struggles with depression, which I had never shared with anyone else. I did it because I was feeling pretty low at the time, and I needed someone I could trust to help me get some help.