I just don't want to live, and so what

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by but_not_today, Jun 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. but_not_today

but_not_today Member

At the beginning of this year, I graduated from college and started a job close to home. My boyfriend of two years is still in school, about an hour away. We emailed and talked on the phone and visited with each other on weekends. A little less than two months ago, he called me while he was semi-intoxicated and told me that he didn't "want to do this" anymore. He informed me that he just wasn't happy and that he didn't think we were getting along. This came as a shock to me. He had ended his last communication to me with "Miss you, love you." just a few hours before and never gave any indication that he was unhappy. I had felt that we were getting along very well. He would never tell me what had made him unhappy or why he felt that we weren't getting along. I tried talking to him, but he didn't want to. He still feels some obligation to be "friends" but my mother (with whom I live) does not think that I should talk to him anymore, so our communication is limited to very occasional emails and phone calls. The more I observe his behavior, the more aware I am that he probably never loved me. He cares a great deal about his friends and obsessively makes sure that he gets to spend all of his free time with them now. He has sent mixed messages, at times saying that we should get back together because he cares about me and wants me to be happy, then later saying that he doesn't love me and that I'll be OK on my own. He has said that he broke up with me because he was afraid he would be "trapped" into marrying me in a year or so (then denied that this was true), he has said that he didn't like having to hear me complain about work, he has said that he just wondered if another girl could make him happier (he later denied ever even saying this). He just continues t