I just need to share. Life is getting in the way of actually living. Maybe triggering

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by emarie7683, Feb 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. emarie7683

emarie7683 New Member

I’m 20 years old. I’m a level II nursing student. I deal with death on the occasional basis. Watching someone draw their last breath and having to keep a face of stone but on the inside, I’m crying. I cry for those who will never have an opportunity to truly live- Infants born to mothers who are more interested in the crack that they are more effectively injecting into their veins than I am at starting an IV. More tracks laid on their body than a rail-yard.
    I was diagnosed with depression when I was 13. Admitted to a psychiatric unit after attempting suicide. I was brutally raped only a few weeks before. Sadistic rape is what I now know it is referred to as- in the ER. A virgin and rather small for my age, he was aggravated because he was unable to penetrate me. Out comes a pocket knife. He effectively gave me an episiotomy then had his fun.
    Jump forward. When I turned 18 I had to file a restraining order against my boyfriend of the time for putting my head through the front door. To be fair, our problems were months old. He began drinking… a lot. It was New Year’s Eve, again, he was staggering drunk. Angry because of my sexual dysfunction, my face went through the door. I ended up with a moderate concussion and a retinal bleed.
    Again, jump forward. June 29, my mother ended her life on a hot summer day. Depression is a generational curse that my family endures. She fought so hard to preserve my life, that she often neglected her own demons. She shot herself through the chest with a .380. She was my best friend. My confidant. The person that I called when I was aggravated with school, friends, and the person I shared my joys and triumphs with… She held a large portion of my heart.