I must be inadequate

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by NorthernLad, Feb 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NorthernLad

NorthernLad New Member

Hello everyone, this is my first time on the forum (so please be gentle with me!)

I am writing as I have considered ending my life for a while regarding this issue. However, in all honesty I would say that I am probably quite far from the actual act at present.

I have been unhappily single and celibate for over four years, due to the fact that I have had no luck with women. In fact, I have pretty much deduced that I am so ordinary and lacking in achievement that women cannot possibly find me attractive or be interested in me, not compared to the high standard of other males that live in London.

I am marginally overweight, not particularly tall and starting to bald (which is less of an issue as I wear my hair very short). I work in a technical IT job (and have had total disinterest and one or two insults from some women when I tell them I work in this field, just as before when I used to be a schoolteacher). I do enjoy it however, and it gives me opportunities (such as foreign travel) that make it unique. However I don't get paid more than the average UK salary, and so do not own a flat or have too many fancy clothes etc. When I discussed this with a female ex-flatmate, she mentioned that it would be hard for me in general as (merely to quote an example) she would never date anyone earning less than £40k ($80k) herself, and neither would her friends (such is the standard of male competition in London).