I need some help working through this...

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by 375, Apr 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 375

375 New Member

I'm depressed and been having suicidal thoughts recently. The reason why I am depressed is multifold. I'm under too much pressure and I feel trapped.

I'm in my last semester of college, but I don't have a job, while everyone one I know does. Don't give me any BS about 'the economy or examples of other people that don't have jobs.' It doesn't make me feel better. I like to strive to be the best.

The worst part is my parents keep on pressuring me about the job. I don't have a good relationship with my parents so I don't want to talk to them about it.

I know exactly what I want to do. I've been working hard to get there, i.e. interning, reading industry books, etc... But try as I might, I can't get an interview or full time offer. And the reason is, I made a mistake my Freshmen and Sophomore years by getting a bad GPA. Bad GPA = no interview.

Now of course, I could try to get a job in another industry, but I know I wouldn't be happy. And I'd likely be pigeon holed in the job and never be able to transfer to the industry I want to be in. I won't be motivated to do something I don't want to do. I'd be depressed still. I wouldn't be able to fake an interview and pretend I liked what I was getting into.

There is just so much pressure I can't stand it. My friend is looking for a roommate next year and he's waiting for me to get a job, but I can't. I don't want to leave him hanging and I also feel bad that I am leaving him hanging. My current roommate is looking to sublet our apartment. I'd love to sublet except I don't have a job and as a result, I don't know if I should sublet yet. But I don't want to keep him hanging and have him lose the interested subletters.

My parents keep on complaining about not having money etc and that I need a job. But I can't get one. I've tried.