I need to vent

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Mr.Medic, Oct 1, 2016.

1. Mr.Medic

Mr.Medic New Member

I should start by saying I don't really intend to post this, maybe I will, maybe I won't.

I'm a university student in England, I've felt slightly down for a few years. The happier days aren't lasting so long any more. I thought maybe it was exam stress but now I'm not so sure. I'm lay on bed crying wondering why I'm so different to everyone else.

I was diagnosed with mental health problems, namely Aspergers, some years ago. For those of you who don't know it's a lesser version of autism. I've always pushed it aside and tried to get on with my life. Alas, I find it incredibly hard to keep and maintain friendships and healthy relationships. Social awkwardness isn't exactly common of medical students, yet I'm often the one who's just stood there listening to the conversations of some of the people I call friends, I always end up on the outside of the circles created when dancing or whatever. Speaking online is a lot easier than in person, so I lack skills in social interaction, my conversations consist of 'hey, how are you?' 'What have you been up to?' But then I run out of things to say and ask, I can't see how people can continue conversations for hours on end - I find it physically impossible. I try to be social, I really do, it just always feels like nobody wants me so within a week I'll probably always end up in my room studying rather than going out. I'm often the one asking if I can 'come along' rather than being invited, leading me to feel as if I'm pestering. I haven't told anyone this, but once one of them told me to go back home as 'nobody wants you here' and to think my friend wondered why I didn't want to go out again last year which evidently doesn't help matters.