I think I may have lost my job...not sure

Discussion in 'Help Me! I Need to Talk to Someone.' started by Hazel Morse, Jun 13, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hazel Morse

Hazel Morse Well-Known Member

If I have lost my job, I don't know what to do.

I'm nearly 36 years old. My mother and stepfather hate me because of my depression. They consider me a failure because I am a teacher (ought to have been a doctor or a lawyer - with all the money they spent on my education, and got married, and not got fat, etc). I can't move back in with them. I have literally zero friends.

I work at the worst international school in the world. Seriously, they have gone without paying me for months before. The school already sacked the Vice Principal without his knowing about it until just two days ago... he had already signed two more months' lease on his apartment. I've signed another year's lease on my flat. They have sacked people without warning before.

I signed a contract in April for the next year, but with all the fuss of preparing for the end of the year and preparing to move campus ( we packed up the entire school) I forgot to ask for a copy of the contract (it needs to be stamped by the government of this awful country). I tried to ask for it today (last day of school) but was given a non-answer. They have renewed my visa and work permit till next year, that's something, but they may have done the same for the hapless Vice Principal. I'm afraid I'll come back to school in August and they'll be like "what're you doing here - thought you got the message that we fired you?" Of course I have no references so I've no idea how I could ever get another job,in my own country or internationally.

Sorry this is so long, but I can't think of any way out. I can't spend 6 weeks with this hanging over my head. I'm frantic.

Does anyone have any suggestions about what I should do?
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 13, 2014
  2. Hatshepsut

Hatshepsut Guest