• Please read the thread in Forum News and Announcements pertaining to race related discussion on SF - thank you :)

I want to volunteer for a suicide hotline

iwihbn

Don't the sun look angry at me?
Hey, its me again.
How would I go about volunteering for this? I'd like to help people, and I think I can help them since I've been suicidal so many times and thus can empathize more easily than others.

I think you could do more or less the same thing right on SF.

If you want to volunteer for a hotline specifically, my guess is that they'd have a link to volunteering opportunities on their website.

iwihbn

I think you could do more or less the same thing right on SF.

If you want to volunteer for a hotline specifically, my guess is that they'd have a link to volunteering opportunities on their website.
A hotline specifically. I take too much from here and don't know how to help with a lot of situations. I'm still a student though which is a problem, as I cant take normal office hours nor commute.

iwihbn

I used to want to do the same, but after researching it for a while, I decided I'd rather try helping out here and on Facebook.
That sounds fair. I feel like this is a less well-known community so I might just direct more people here if I see them struggling, if thats allowed.

iwihbn

I don't understand.

The same would be true with a hotline, I think, except then you can't just drop the call. With threads, if you don't know how to help, you can just move on to the the next thread.
I make more posts than I give good advice or empathy. It feels like I take too much without giving anything back. In a call I would have to help, and I'm much more empathetic on voice rather than text.

I make more posts than I give good advice or empathy. It feels like I take too much without giving anything back
It's ok to ask for and get support on SF. Doing that doesn't really take away from anyone else.