I wil be sacked!

Discussion in 'Rants, Musings and Ideas' started by lord.nigel, May 8, 2013.

1. lord.nigel

lord.nigel Well-Known Member

I recently gave up my wonderfully stable (although boring) labour hire job to do something more rewarding - working for a charity finding jobs for the unemployed and disabled. I was told all i needed was raw talent and they would build me up so that i could make a difference and insisted i resign from my old job immediately - I did! The pays pretty good too.

Now that im there, ive been given a caseload of 100 job searchers, discovered theres no training and i have no knowledge of the computer systems, let alone the procedures, laws etc. I have to inspire them, work out what they want to do and put at least 12 into jobs each month to meet my quotas and cold call to seek new business. to get to them to that point, i need to send them on resume writing and english courses, alongside updating their pathway plans. if they dont turn up, i need to put them on performance plan, which could lead to the loss of their entitlements. One dude is unwashed, smells like garbage and carries a mouse in his pocket.

to make it worse, my predecessor was sacked 2 months into the role and the place has a very high turnover. now after my first day, im expected to be an expert and am now out on my own. ill give it my best shot, but im scared out of my wits.

ive told them i need training and dont feel comfortable and their response was, there is no training, learn it myself and be confident.

ill do my best, but im now job hunting! i havent even set up my desk as I know i wont be there long enough lol. im the type of person that needs to be shown how to do things the first time, and im out of my depth.
    Last edited by a moderator: May 8, 2013
  2. skinnylove911

skinnylove911 Well-Known Member