I will change my life for the better in 2012, or end it in 2013.

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Sam3039, Feb 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sam3039

Sam3039 Member

As the title says, I have made a plan.

I'm not simply posting this for the hell of it. It's quite nice to have somewhere to vent. A way to get things straight in my head. Basically I have felt depressed for well over five years. I couldn't say exactly how long. I have never been diagnosed with anything properly, because I am concerned for my job and I don't want to make what could potentially be the last year of my life any harder by worrying about my job (i am a medical professional in the navy).

I know the mental health teams, I know how they work and strongly believe they will not be able to help me. I have approached them carefully in the past, but have not had a positive experience with them, if anything I've felt a little patronized. The bottom line is, I have tried self help, I have tried professional help. It hasn't worked.

For a long time I have felt like suicide is the only real option and the only reason I have not gone ahead with it, is because I have not wanted to hurt my family. The trouble is that I think they are already worried about me, but I have become very irritable and we have recently had a small falling out. I haven't spoken to them in a few weeks now and it simply proves that they would be better off without me in their lives.

I have made a decision to improve my life. I will do everything I can to make a significant and positive change in my life this year. I don't care if it's that I make a significant improvement to my fitness (not that I'm unfit at all), or if I learn to play a new instrument. I could learn a new professional skill, or get a girlfriend. So long as it's significant and positive, I don't care.