I'm a doctor and I want to die.

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Owen, Feb 5, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Owen

Owen New Member

Hi everyone,

I'm having rough time. In fact, I'm having a couple rough years.
    I am a physician, finishing my training in a medicine subspecialty. I have utterly hated my life since…..well mostly always. Don't get my wrong, I have had nice periods for sure. I've been in love, I have had amazing friendships, beautiful experiences (even some at work). But I am plagued by the fear that I am being led off a cliff and am willingly participating.

I hate medicine with a passion. I challenge any doctor to tell me that they really, wholeheartedly, feel that this field (at least in the USA), isn't the most vitriolic, unhappy bunch of people that exists. The sad part is that even though I believe most of us hate our jobs passionately, there is nobody you can express this to. Doctors are conditioned to not have personal feelings, complaints, needs. We spend our days sacrificing for our patients, not having time to even urinate or eat lunch, only to be threatened by a patient with a lawsuit because I was late (because I was listening to another patient patiently) or with death because I will not provide someone with prescription for the grocery list of narcotics they have brought me. I have been sexually harassed, punched, spit on and so on…..when I stand up for myself I am told that is the wrong thing to do because it does not benefit the patient. One must always try to do whats best for the patient…..even when the patient might be a piece of shit.