I'm glad I found this place

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by ThinBlueFlame, Jul 25, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ThinBlueFlame

ThinBlueFlame Member

Hi, everyone. I'm 33, female, and live in Washington, DC. I've suffered from depression for as long as I can remember. My first (and only) suicide attempt was when I was 18. I absolutely hate my job. I've been working there for about 4 years. I work from home and the nice thing about that is that it's allowed me to move around in an attempt to figure out where I really want to live. However, the bad thing is that I'm totally isolated. I moved to DC about a year ago and my main goal was to find an office job but every time I think about job hunting I feel utterly terrified and hopeless. In general, I've been feeling very anxious, sad, overwhelmed, and out of control. And scared. My brain is scary. I used to be able to distract myself by going to concerts, reading, going out for coffee, etc., but now I don't want to leave my house or deal with people. Totally shutting down is new to me and it's worrisome. I feel like I can't talk to my friends or family about how terrible and hopeless I'm feeling.

2. Shadowlands

Shadowlands Official SF Hugger Staff Alumni

Welcome to the site. Lots of friendly people here. :hug:

3. Northern

Northern SF Supporter

Welcome to the site! Working from home is not a good thing for people like us. I hope you will start looking again and find something you like.

Good luck!

4. Petal

Petal SF dreamer Staff Alumni SF Supporter

Welcome to the forum, I hope you can feel at ease talking to us here. Many folks here isolate themselves, shut themselves off from the world so we will understand :hugs:

5. AAA3330

AAA3330 Well-Known Member