I'm Not Stupid

Discussion in 'Rants, Musings and Ideas' started by Linny, Nov 18, 2014.

1. Linny

Linny Active Member

People keep expecting me to be this scholar and I try to meet everyone's expectations just because I've got nothing better to do. I'm never good enough for my dad though considering although I graduated high school a year early, I'm not so amazing because I didn't raise enough to go to the college I got accepted to -the only one I applied for, the private institution- so I have to take a year off. And everyone else comments on how smart I am with my school work and how I can solve anything but then they turn right around and talk to me like I"m ignorant over the simplest of things. Like, I don't keep up with football or tv shows because I don't see them as relevant. So my friends get onto me because they're preaching how the things we learn in school wont apply in the real world and it's all going to waste any ways. Even though everything I've learned so far -YES, EVERYTHING even Pythagorean Theorem, thanks- because I want to be an engineer, making innovations in renewable resources, specifically hydroelectricity. So I take school seriously and find everyone in my grade to be condescending jerks who don't know when to keep their mouths shut.