I'm not very good at asking for help, but...

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by BrokenIcarus, May 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BrokenIcarus

BrokenIcarus Member

Over 10 years ago, I tried suicide - I stuck a gun in my mouth and pulled the trigger. To this day, no one knows why it didn't go off.

I have thought about it often since then...sometimes seriously planning...other times more just fleetingly...

I have been in counseling, therapy, whatever you want to call it since I escaped from my violent husband over 3 years ago...

And the counselors know...knew...about my "tendencies", in a vague way, but we never talked about it...the most they would say was "Do you need to be in a hospital right now?"

How do you explain that no...I don't want or need to be in a hospital...it would just make matters worse...

For obvious reasons, I don't trust easily...and asking for help straight out is definitely not my strong point...so a hospital with strangers...being pawned off on people I don't know...I just couldn't take it...

In the past year, all of the counselors and people I have trusted have moved on with their lives in directions that make our schedules not fit...one retired, one changed positions...one changed jobs completely...one quit and moved far away...

Last week, the last person I felt I could talk to changed her schedule around, due to mandates from the adminstration...and now, because of my work hours we can't do counseling.