I'm out of options

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Sisyphus, Nov 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sisyphus

Sisyphus Member

I'm depressed. I have been this way now for 5 months, maybe more. I spend most of my time in my bed in my apartment and I usually only venture out for food or to go to class or to meet my counselor and his group. I'm in a Masters program and I have a Bachelors degree in Social Work. Right now I don't seem to be in a position to deal with other people's problems.

I lead a shitty childhood and was abused, neglected, and abandoned and that is largely why I chose to go into social work. My grandmother took me in when I was 13; she was the only person who really cared about me and she ended up with breast cancer which metastasized into bone cancer and she died about a year and half ago. About 6 months ago I found out that my Great Aunt, who got power of attorney over my grandfather, had taken money that had been promised to me for school and lent it out to her own children and other family. I'm now expected to pay all my own student loans which will amount to around 40K when I am done. I have an aunt and uncle in this part of the country who borrowed 30K to pay for their daughter's wedding and they have insisted they will help me out. I don't want their money and I absolutely hate that I am forced into a position where I need it.