I'm Scared!

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by MAS, Dec 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MAS

MAS Active Member

I'm just so scared that I will never get better. I have been fighting these gremlins since I was 18 years old but over the years they have just got worse (I am 43 now).

A few weeks ago I had to go to A&E as I was suicidal and scared what I might do. I tried the CMHT and GP first only to be told there was no one who could see me. I was supported for two weeks by the Home Treatment Team but have now been left on my own again to 'get on with it'.

I am on medication - Venlafaxine and Chlorpromazine - but they don't seem to be lifting me enough.

I was doing so well before this last bout of depression. I wasn't quite where I wanted to be but I was achieving towards my goal. I want to be back there again so I can continue on my road to recovery.

2. Anime-Zodiac

Anime-Zodiac Well-Known Member

Who put you on the medication? Tell them that your current set of medication and dosage doesn't seem to be lifting you enough.

3. MAS

MAS Active Member

Hi Mystic Eyes - thank you for replying to my thread.

I am an outpatient under the CMHT and still see my psychiatrist about every 6 months. Unfortunately, my appointment in November was cancelled and I now have to wait until 24th February to see him and tell his the meds arn't lifting me enough. I have actually increased my Venlafaxine dose myself.

4. Stranger1

Stranger1 Forum Buddy & Antiquities Friend

Hello MAS,
    Can't you call them and tell them it is an emergency that you see him/her sooner? Let them know your meds aren't working and you feel you are in crisis of harming yourself.
    In the mean time write your thoughts down as they come to you. Take them with you when you go and see him/her. I can't beleive how hard you all have it to get help in the UK. it's not that hard here to get admitted.