I'm ugly, I'm not funny, I'm not smart - I have no future, nothing to look forward to

Discussion in 'Rants, Musings and Ideas' started by A_New_Man, Apr 22, 2007.

1. A_New_Man

A_New_Man Well-Known Member

People always tell me that I need to have more self-confidence. I'm afraid of being confident because overconfidence breeds arrogance. But there's another reason why it's tough for me to be confident in myself - I have absolutely no good traits whatsoever.

I'm ugly, I'm not witty, I'm not funny, I'm not interesting, I bore people to death when I talk, I'm only interested in anime and video games, I suck at talking to people, I have little experience interacting with other people at all, and everyone I talk to seems extremely disinterested in me. I have no skills, no talents, no redeeming traits, no good points at all. There is absolutely nothing to look forward to in my life. The other people here are complaining about their sex lives and boyfriends and girlfriends - I have it way worse than anyone else. I have no life, no future, no chance at ever being with another person. My life is practically already over, since it will never get better or improve. I'm already dead, and I'm only 18. You can't get worse than that.

You might say that I'm not "willing to help myself". I'm not "willing" because it's not possible for me to be helped. I can't un-ugly myself. I can't un-boring myself. You just can't completely change yourself from a lame, dull, uninteresting and unwitty loser into the complete opposite. Believe me, if it were actually possible to help myself, I'd be doing everything I could. But I can't reverse time and go back to my formative years and enhance myself well my mental facilities were still forming. I've reached an age where my personality has finished developing, and I can't just radically change myself on a whim, no matter how hard I wish I could.