I'm very surprised to find myself here.

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Electric blue, Jan 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Electric blue

Electric blue New Member

I'm not sure that I know why I'm doing this. I would say that I'm not here to complain about my life and pull attention-getting stunts so that strangers will rush to my aid, but if that were true I wouldn't be writing this. What I will say is this: I've looked through these forums, and I'm beginning to realize that things could be a lot worse, and I should be thankful for what life has given me.

But of course, I'm not. If I were, I wouldn't be here.

So let me start by describing my life. This will probably get long, I apologize.

I'm an engineering student. I go to a good school, and I come from a loving family. I'm in my early 20's and, by anyone's measure, I should be enjoying the prime years of my life.

Most of my peers spend their time partying and living it up, creating memories that will last them a lifetime. Those who don't are usually very academically accomplished, and will no doubt find themselves saddled with a great career in the very near future.

But then there's me. I don't party because I don't drink. I don't make friends because I'm very socially stunted. I live in a single room, all by myself. You would think, then, that I would be one of those who excels academically.