Intentionally Convincing Depressed People to commit suicide is Not a Criminal Act?

Discussion in 'Soap Box' started by unionfalls, Mar 20, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. unionfalls

unionfalls Well-Known Member

WARNING MAY BE TRIGGERING. VERY SENSITIVE ISSUE

This is a current case in Minnesota,USA that has gone to my States Supreme Court, where the conviction by the lower court was overturned as not aiding suicide. It has been sent back to the lower court for consideration as assisting suicide. The Supreme Courts problem with the law appears to be the language of "aiding" but not "assisting". I am not a lawyer, and I do not understand the difference of these words. Here is the Minnesota State Statue

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.215&year=2013&keyword_type=all&keyword=suicide

I do not understand how this is not conviction, according to my states Supreme Court. I also do not understand that the lower court would only sentence 360 days for aiding Depressed/Vulnerable people to commit suicide. In my state anything under a year sentence is not prison, he would get workhouse time and eventually house arrest for less than a year for intentionally getting two people to commit suicide. This is from the article, this really has angered me.

"Evidence in the Melchert-Dinkel case showed he was obsessed with suicide and sought out depressed people online. When he found them, he posed as a suicidal female nurse, feigning compassion and offering step-by-step instructions on how they could kill themselves.
    Melchert-Dinkel told police he did it for the “thrill of the chase.” According to court documents, he acknowledged participating in online chats about suicide with up to 20 people and entering into fake suicide pacts with about 10, five of whom he believed killed themselves.