Intervention

Discussion in 'Therapy and Medication' started by KatePerk, Jan 31, 2015.

1. KatePerk

KatePerk Account Closed

We received a terrible news from my uncle that my cousin is on the state of suicidal. Last time I saw him he's been drinking too much alcohol and doing little drugs. I've been looking into the web for some information regarding addiction, I've read about interventions in this website Drug Recovery Center Shreveport that would convince someone to take treatment. Do you think this would be effective? Are there any other ways? I want to help my cousin get over his problem.

2. Unknown_111

Unknown_111 Forum Buddy Staff Alumni SF Supporter

Hi it's a vicious circle but the first step is that.your cousin wants to stop his addiction. As I am no expert, I.would use the search.facility to look at previous posts. Personally, you cousin needs to go on a voluntarily basis in a rehab program.

It's going to be a difficult subject to approach to your uncle but early intervention is important. I hope this advice helps you.

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 31, 2015
  3. NYJmpMaster

NYJmpMaster Have a question? Message Me Staff Member Forum Owner ADMIN

If he is currently suicidal I would not consider an intervention without a lot of input from a professional counselor. The addictions are clearly a big part of that problem, but if suicidal and they take it as the people closest to them turning on them it could be very dangerous. Not at all saying "don't do it", just saying get some professional help very familiar with the situation to help decide the best approach.

It is very good he has the love and support of people that care- I do hope you are able to find a way to help him.

4. DrownedFishOnFire

DrownedFishOnFire Quieta non movere