Introduction?

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by lookingforhope, Apr 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I don't really know how to introduce myself. I suppose I will share some of my story.

I am a university student, in my mid-twenties, and I am working part-time. I have been struggling with mental health issues for more than a decade. I have been in and out of hospitals with repeat suicide attempts for as long as I can remember. (I first thought about ending my life at 8 years old, and by 11 years old, I was actively making plans to end my life. I made my first attempt at 13 years old).

I have worked really hard to get healthy, and I have made a lot of gains in my recovery. It has been a year and a half since my last attempt, and prior to that, almost three years. I no longer self-harm (5 years recovery), and I have been in recovery from an eating disorder for almost 2 years. I still struggle with major depressive disorder (and some accompanying OCD traits during episodes of crisis). I was diagnosed with BPD as a teenager, but I no longer meet the criteria for that diagnosis. Medication has never been helpful to me, and I have always resisted ECT.

I am saddened and distressed to be experiencing another episode of depression. Unfortunately, I have started to take medication again, because I am afraid I might hurt myself. In the past, I always thought I wanted to die. I now know that I don't really want to die, but rather, I want the negative thoughts and emotions to "die". I don't really want to hurt myself, but rather, I want to "hurt" the darkness inside of myself. I am really struggling to survive, and to stay alive.