Is God evil or flawed?

Discussion in 'Soap Box' started by Rainfall, May 1, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rainfall

Rainfall Well-Known Member

Ok, before you ask, I'm studying Buddhism.

I believe in God, not the God that Abrahamic religions believe in, but a God. I believe in a God that isn't loving, that doesn't care about us. A tyrant God.

One of the main reasons I believe this is Maccy's argument:

The Bible/Torah/Koran says God is omipotent, omniscient, and benevolent (all-powerful, all-knowing and all-loving). This means God knows about evil, has the power to stop evil, and wants to stop evil (as he would want to end our suffering).

But evil exists.

If God exists, it can't be an omnipotent, omniscient and benevolent God. But a God would be all-powerful, and know his/her s/he mustn't love us.

I'm aware of the arguments against this:

It can't be a test-s/he is all-knowing, so would already know the answer. And s/he wouldn't allow such suffering if s/he loved us.

It can't be because if the devil, the Maccy argument would apply to the devil as well as evil. God is the all-powerful being, the devil should have no power.

It can't be because of free-will. That's like a parent giving a child a chainsaw, with the idea that the child is free to make a living cutting down trees, or end up killing people.

It can't be because of God's greater plan. S/he has the power to furfill his/her plan without suffering, since s/he's all-powerful, wants to do this, since s/he's all-loving, and knows how to do so, since s/he's all-knowing.

So yeah...just some of my ideas. Do u agree? (and just incase u ask this question, I'm 16).
  2. Wastingecho

Wastingecho Well-Known Member

can good exist without evil? if so, how would we know what good is? from my point of view, we need to face all aspects of life in order to grow and find out what we truly are