Is it possible to be happy and suicidal?

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by roguefishfood, Jun 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. roguefishfood

roguefishfood Member

I don't understand why I feel this way, but it's been this way a long time.

I've been suicidal for almost ten years. It started when I was sad and angry and had a hard time focusing, it waned for a short while during university, but came back by the time I graduated. In the beginning it seemed I'd feel hopeless when I was depressed, and that's when the urges and feelings and ideas would take hold... but slowly over time it's... not. I feel hopeless even when I'm happy, and it's causing me a lot of confusion and pain.

I have a nice apartment, a mostly good relationship, a worthwhile job that pays me a little bit more than I need to live and leaves me enough free time to do as I please, a sweet dog, good friends, and I used to feel trapped, but since I moved out of my home country, I seldom feel that anymore either. I am allergic to the sun and have mild IBS, but am otherwise in perfect health and I see myself as at least decent-looking most of the time. (IBS used to be worse, a major source of depression for me, but it's manageable now.)

My life pretty much ticks all the boxes. I'm not living in luxury but I'm doing OK, and somehow it just makes it all the more frustrating that I feel like killing myself every single day. There used to be reasons for this, but now it seems so senseless.