Is it possible to damage muscles with cutting?

Discussion in 'Self Harm & Substance Abuse' started by Hurted, Jun 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hurted

Hurted Well-Known Member

I used to cut for the period of 1 year, then i stopped (it was one year ago).

After i stoped, i "changed" cutting for piano. I've been playing piano for 10 years, but i stopped for 2 years and then started again one year ago. Right now i'm expiriencing pain in my muscles. Piano injuries are very common, but i can't beleive that i injuried my hand so soon (1 year after i restarted). Is it possible to damage muscles with cutting? I have to stop playing for at least 2 months and it's making me depressed.
  2. aoeu

aoeu Well-Known Member

Yeah, definitely. They should heal in time, though - cutting damage + repetitive piano strain could be a combination to disable you.
  3. jameslyons

jameslyons Well-Known Member

Yes yes yes!

Besides having scars on my body, I have some phantom pains from when I've nicked nerves. It's pretty much the worst outcome that can happen to you if you Self injure with blades. And really only happens if you're a deep self-injurer.

Still the pain will go away, and since you play the piano (good for you! I love playing instruments), just keep doing those finger stretching exercises they make office workers do.
  4. Hurted

Hurted Well-Known Member

Hm.... thanks for replys. I can't understand this. Why does injury (in case that it is because of SH of course) needs one year to occur?
    The other thing is that i was never the "deep" cutter, except for the few times, when i lost control.
    The other thing is, that i am experiencing the pain in both hand, in all "parts". I suppose that there are small possibilities that cutting would damage both hands.

Can doctor find out if injury is a result of SI?