Is this Emtional Abuse?

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by One_Wish_One_Chance, Nov 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. One_Wish_One_Chance

One_Wish_One_Chance New Member

Hi Everyone,
    Well i'm kinda new to this thing but i wanted to ask a question.
    Am i a suffer of Emotional Abuse?

Ever since i was very young, i have never liked my mother, i have never had any kind of mother-daughter bond and i've never been able to talk to her.
    Its the little things she does that gets to me for example:
    I got a B in my maths test and too her it wasnt good enough and i need to do better, i was really upset and felt like a failier :(.
    We have so many arguments its unbeleiveble and makes me feel like i was brought into this world to be treated like shit!
    My Dad moved to the USA just to get away from her because everyone she comes across she treats like shit, but i get most of it because i am the closest thing to her.
    She doesnt let me wear what i want, have what hairstyle i want or let me live my life...she trys to live it for me. And its been really difficault lately cause i have a boyfriend and she isnt his biggest fan!
    She shouts at me in public places for nothing and she is soo embaressing, my friends dont even like coming round because she moans and embaresses them aswell
    Is this abuse?
    what can i do?

2. Spearmint

Spearmint Well-Known Member

Hm..I wouldn't say it's emotional abuse..But I don't know enough about the situation to be sure. It just seems like she's acting like a normal mom, a bit more demanding, but maybe when she said a B on a math test wasn't good enough, she meant you could have done better, and she's just wanting you to work at your full potential? I dunno, you say you don't like her, and I'm not sure how you treat her, but that might have something to do with how she talks to you? :dunno: Not much you can do except to try and avoid her, if she's that embarrassing. G'luck.