Is this normal?

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by babycheeses, Sep 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. babycheeses

babycheeses Active Member

This isn't about my behaviour it's about what's happening in my life at the moment. I think I'm being a bit defeatist and pessimistic but I'm finding it hard to be positive when all my friends seem to be doing so well.

I finished uni last year. I did a double degree with psyc and english (with english honours).
    I indulged in some travelling with my family over the summer (which is december-jan for us) and when I got back I was so annoyed with myself. I didn't have a job lined up.

I'd run my bank account down to nothing overseas (I had to borrow money as well). I hated that; it ruined the rest of my trip and I just wanted to work and feel safer knowing I had money in my account.

The day we returned I went into my casual job (where i'd worked weekends over my degree) and asked if they could give me as many shifts as possible till I find something else. That was the end of January.

I'm still there.

I've been looking for work for 8 months. I have applied for job after job after job and haven't even made it to an interview.
    I'm pretty sure my resume is ok.
    I just don't know why I'm not getting anything. My job now is so meaningless and boring. I work with high school kids who don't appreciate the work, which makes me feel even less satisfied with the work I do. It's repetitive and mundane and my skills are going to waste.
    Friends who have made it in the working world or who are still studying and have their lives planned out often make comment about the "real" work they have to do, as if I've chosen some cruisy cushy job to slack off.

I understand that they're frustrated and stuff at their job but it just makes me feel little.

I had left my hometown and gone to Canberra to do my degree.