Isn't cutting "pain" addiction?

Discussion in 'Self Harm & Substance Abuse' started by nicesinging1, Feb 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nicesinging1

nicesinging1 Well-Known Member

This is my first time posting in this forum. But first, pardon me, I am not someone who has cutting addiction. I am just making this thread because I am trying to understand why people resort to cutting as coping method.
    One thing I am wondering is that, isn't cutting pain addiction? Isn't cutting addiction different compared to drug, alcohol, cigarette and sex addiction in that cutting causes pains, not pleasures?
    What makes people hooked up on cutting when they are going through pains to endure even more pains? It certainly is different compared to temporary pleasures or highs that you get from other stimulants such as alcohol and drugs.
    Thanks in advance for insights.

-Hank-

2. resistance

resistance Staff Alumni

To answer your main question, yes, for me, I guess I would say cutting is pain addiction. I haven't cut myself since December, but I have actually been missing it a lot recently but I'm trying not to go there. The other thread I started may help you understand:

A guide to self harm.

1)Seeing the blood, feeling the pain makes me feel alive.
    2)As a punishment, I feel a lot of self hatred towards myself, hate the person I am and I feel as though I need to punish this person.
    3)Distraction. I find that when I am stressed, the urges to self harm are much higher than they would normally be and when I self harm, the focus of the attention is diverted, if only for a short period of time.
    4)Control. Self harm gives a sense of control. Something you can control. It feels as if it is the only thing you can control. Everything is happening around you, in your mind that you can’t stop but by hurting yourself, you gain a sense control.