it never rains but poors

Discussion in 'Rants, Musings and Ideas' started by starlight2006, Aug 14, 2007.

1. starlight2006

starlight2006 Well-Known Member

I've got a lot of emotions going thro me at the mo. Last nite was a really good nite - was out with my mates at the pub. I saw an old friend from school that i havent seen propely for 4 years and we're gona meet up soon, which im really looking forward to. It stirred alot of feelings and questions that i wish were already answered, but i'll talk about that in another post sometime.

Right now im feeling pisssed off. Im not suicidal or majorly depressed, just annoyed. I'm a student in a ton of debt. Last summer i got a temp job at a well-known supermarket in the UK. They ended the temp contracts a few weeks early, which pissed me off alot at the time.

In July I managed to get another temp job with them for this summer. I was contracted until 8th september, which was good because i worked out it was enought to pay off my overdraft. I knew that there was a strong possibilty that they would end the contract around the august bank hol. But last week one of the managers asked me if i could stay on an extra week. I took this to mean i would def be staying until sept. But he also said that the overtime that i had jus done wouldnt be paid for, it would be given to me as holiday.

But tonite i went into work to find out that they wanted me to leave by next thursday. They did it again and ended the contracts early - something to do with how much they budget for staffing - even tho they are a billion pound multinational company!!!! The manager - claire - that had to tell me was almost in tears because she had never had to do that before, i felt really sorry for her. They wanted me to work up til next week, but they owe me nearly 30 hours! Claire said that she would understand if i jus said 'sod it' and went home, so that is what i did, i walked out.