It should be easier to turn off.

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by How_soon_is_now, Dec 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. How_soon_is_now

How_soon_is_now New Member

Hi, I'm Alex, I'm 24 and I feel paralyzed all the time. I can still walk, I can still watch tv, play lonely little games, talk to people (rarely). But I feel that even though there is a chance that life will be happy, I would simply prefer to do the easy thing and jump off a bridge, even though I don't feel that I have the energy to do even that. I find myself hoping for that temporary insanity and melodramatic urge to simply do it, and stomach the terror and the goodbyes long enough to do it in private, take everyone by surprise.

Since I graduated college last summer, every thing has slowed down and I don't feel at all ready for adult life, in any interaction will people I simply freeze, I realize that getting a job might make everything feel more meaningful, more productive, as would moving out of my parents house, but I don't want to face the pain of growing up, I quite frankly don't have it in me, I envy and hate those that can function professionally, socially, sexually, romantically, taking the bad days with the good. If there were an option to start again as someone else I would take it. But I have grown to be a person that does not fit in the world, there is a bully in me that despises my cheap escapism and helpless selfishness, but the only alternative that he offers is to be like him, to be a person that succeeds at the expense of the child in me.