it's mostly guilt that keeps me going

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by stroopy, Jan 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stroopy

stroopy New Member

I've been depressed for years now, it's came and went, gotten better and gotten worse.

I've attempted a few times and (thankfully) survived. I've met a wonderful woman and married her in July. My life is pretty awesome all things considered. I got a pretty good job a few months ago, the money is pretty good and although my boss hates me (I'm not being dramatic, he's a dick and he hates me) I've pretty much got it made...

So why do I still struggle sleeping? Why do I still lay awake at night wanting to kill myself?

It was so easy to understand back when I was an awkward, ugly, socially inept teenager. I'm now a 22 year old engineer with a gorgeous wife and I still wish I was dead sometimes. Most of the time.

I've been to the doctor about it. I'm in a queue to see a therapist / psychologist / psychiatrist but NHS waiting list means I've still got a few weeks / months to wait. The last time I got one appointment, was told the psychologist would get in touch with me to book a regular appointment and I never heard back.

My wife's ex boyfriend - the last guy she was in a serious relationship with before me - killed himself about 8 months before we met.

Sometimes I feel like she only married me to fill the gap he left in her life. Sometimes the only thing stopping me from doing it is not wanting to put her through the pain again because I don't think she could take it again.

I can talk to her really openly about my depression. We actually met when she was organising a gig to raise money for PAPYRUS (a really good anti-suicide charity, in case anyone out there isn't familiar with them, look them up: and she booked my band to play. I can talk to her about being depressed, I can even talk to her when I want to kill myself and she's always there to calm me down.