I've Finally Graduated

Discussion in 'Positive Feelings and Motivational Messages' started by Zurkhardo, Dec 23, 2010.

1. Zurkhardo

Zurkhardo Well-Known Member

It still hasn't entirely sunk in that I am forever out of school for as long as I choose to be (until I go for my masters). I went straight to FIU the summer after I graduated high school. For most of my 23 years on this Earth, I've been in school, and for the last 5 years I've been working simultaneously. Thus, as one would imagine, it feels rather unusual not to have some sort of assignment to do or class to go to. Essays, textbooks, tests, studying - all these things felt as routine as brushing my teeth or eating breakfast. They were inseparable from my everyday life.

Indeed, a lot of people used to tell me that I should just get a job as a student :p I do pride myself on being something of an autodidact, and I do love to learn. Despite all the stress and lack of time that came with being a full-time student (and often also a full-time employee), I had to admit that I enjoyed school a lot.

It wasn't just all the things I learned, but the experiences I had - the "non-academic" education if you will: the value of an education and (perhaps most importantly) of money, how to manage time and balance different priorities, and how valuable it is to keep good habits, like sleeping well and being organized (admittedly, work on the former is still in progress).

Most of the wonderful people in my life today I met throughout my years at school. My life would be so different were not for the dozens of wonderful human beings, even mere acquaintances, that spiced it up. I remember how every semester and every class had it's "guest stars" - people I would know only at that time and for that course who nonetheless provided me valuable knowledge, companionship, and practical help. I remember fondly how big assignments and tests would bring everybody together through their mutual interests.