I've had it.... done...losing it.

Status
Not open for further replies.
This may sound stupid and maybe even cruel and unloving but I need to get it out.

I love my kids to death and I've been hiding my severe depression from them for the last 5 years. They are with me every second week, so I have a week with them and then one on my own. As my ex-wife is visiting relatives abroad I have had my boys for the last 2 weeks. Please don't get me wrong, I love them to death (no pun intended) but it is soooo difficult to hide my feelings of loneliness, hopelessness and despair for such a long time. I have the unrealistic idea that they will know how I feel and leave me alone at my darkest moments, but it's those moments that they say "what's for dinner" or "can I have money to....". I feel like a freaking butler and an instant ATM. Nothing more. I know it's not fair to the kids, but I'm currently having the feeling I'm going insane.
I want to call an ambulance and go to the mental clinic, but I can't. Because the kids would worry. But in the meantime I feel I'm going insane. I actually think I'm going insane. I don't feel attached to reality, I'm like a zombie. My 10 year old sometimes asks me if I'm ok (he probably senses something wrong) and I try to assure him that daddy is ok. But daddy is not ok. Daddy is losing it. I shouldn't say this but I sometimes understand that people in the US grab a gun and do something really stupid. I guess it's a good thing I don't have access to drugs or guns because I think that that would be the end of me. Am I suicidal at this point? Absolutely. I'm having the worst depression ever. Triggered by losing my job (redundancy), not having had a partner for the last year (apart from the occasional 'one night stand' which leaves me with more agony than the memory of fake intimacy).