I've just pegged what this feeling is. . .

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Leigh, Jun 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Leigh

Leigh New Member

I'm a college student at a private university. I've maintained a 3.9 GPA, I just signed the lease for a house, I'm the daughter that my parents don't worry about.

I've felt a heaviness inside of me for at least two years now. Every once and a while I talk to my parents about it and I'm like, "could this be depression?" The thing is, though, I always tell myself to suck it up and keep going. Even if I don't want to do something, I recognize that I have responsibilities. So if I am depressed, I'm functional. . . meaning it's never actually been dealt with.

But today, I was able to recognize what this "heaviness" means. My brain just went, "OK, I'm done now. I'm ready to die." And as soon as I recognized this, it actually felt like it lightened.

I'm just so tired of being strong. I've had to be strong since I was a toddler. I was sick for the first half of my life and the doctors actually didn't think I'd reach adulthood. I feel like I've been toughing out my entire life and suddenly I'm just going "no, really, I'm done."

Does this resonate with anyone?

2. Iain

Iain Well-Known Member

Hi Leigh,
    the heaviness you speak of is all to prevalent in my life, except I just call it the dark place. Admittedly my situation is vastly different to yours. Im a 50 year old separated male. I have battled the dark place for a long long time. For the first 30 plus years, I didnt like to admit there was an issue there. Except of course I would get these... moments of absolute anger. And as I got older the anger just got longer and longer. Eventually I had a situation which led to me being diagnosed with depression, and 10 or so year down the track, even with medication, I still fight to stay away from the dark place.