Jobs and Sobs. I need Advice.Insight.Whatever you have to offer!!!

Discussion in 'The Coffee House' started by raychel_in_wonderland, Jul 22, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I'm not really sure if this is the right forum for this? Sorry if it isn't! Don't hurt me!!

Since January I've been unemployed. I've been going through a serious depressed episode and I'm no where near out of it but my parentals are putting on the pressure of getting a new job. I'm still unsure if I am mentally able to handle that....but it is almost out of my hands at this point. Parentals are just tired of paying my bills.

Here is the dilemma I'm currently facing. And I'm sorry if it sounds like a stupid problem to have but for me it is a cause of extreme anxiety and stress and the cause of A LOT of tear shed.

I'm 24. I am a college graduate. and I have 2 degrees. I have one in Culinary Arts and one in Hospitality Administration (hotel and restaurant management). My last job as a restaurant manager (and the one that sent me into my spiraling depressed episode) left me absolutely despising everything about the hospitality and restaurant industry. It was and still is considered a "great job that is fully descriptive of what is is like to be a manager in a restaurant". Essentially, it is how it would be to work in any restaurant.

So, I have the Culinary arts degree. Which leads me to working in the kitchen side of things instead of management. But those jobs are so high stress and face paced that I know at this point in time, right now, I can't handle that and would end up worse off than I am now.