Life keeps getting worse...

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Melmoth the Wanderer, Dec 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Melmoth the Wanderer

Melmoth the Wanderer Well-Known Member

Sorry if this isn't the right place to post this, but I wasn't quite sure where it fit. There's probably some triggering stuff in this, too, just to warn everyone.

First, some background information, if anyone wants the context.

I’m a 19-year-old college student. I started taking medication and seeing various therapists for anxiety and depression about five years ago. I wish the pills were as effective as people seem to believe they are, but they usually work well enough to help me deal with life. I’ve seen five therapists (one didn’t get past the consultation session, though), and I’m now having phone sessions with my hometown psychologist. In addition to depression and general anxiety, I pick my skin (my legs look like they were attacked by rabid insects) and I have social anxiety.

I recently realized I was more or less emotionally abused as a child. I say more or less, because my circumstances were not as severe as other cases I’ve read about. Mostly I was ignored—even my mother admits this. My sister, a musician, had many recitals and lessons, and I was dragged along for years without choice. I tried to compete with her, but I couldn’t. Even her problems were more serious than mine were. When I saw I would never be good enough, I gave up.

At this moment, I should be studying for three final exams coming up next week, but I can't seem to get started. My grades in general are going steadily downhill. My apartment is a pitiful wreck. I used to do my own laundry and to clean my room (and sometimes the house) when I lived with my parents, so the relatively new situation doesn’t quite explain my current inadequacy for cleanliness.