looking for anti anxiety meds to suggest to my doctor

Discussion in 'Therapy and Medication' started by blurryface, Jul 18, 2015.

1. blurryface

blurryface New Member

hey there. i'm currently on 40mg fluoxetine which is supposed to treat my depression and anxiety. lately i've been getting really bad intense panic attacks and discussed being out on meds specifically aimed at anxiety. she doesn't want to put me on any addictive drugs but beta blockers have a bad interaction with fluoxetine. any suggestion ? thank you !

2. Petal

Petal SF dreamer Staff Alumni SF Supporter

I am not a medical professional so I will just share my experiences with anxiety meds.

The anti depressant sertraline (zoloft) also treats anxiety and it works great on my anxiety, it takes the edge off.

I took xanax(alprazolam) for a good number of years, it's a drug you do not want to try, it is highly addictive and I was getting withdrawal symptoms between each dose. It did initially help my anxiety but in the end caused more issues than it was worth. It took 5 months of weaning off until I was ''clean'' of it.

I now take valium (diazepam), i'm on a hefty dose at 30mg a day, it greaty helps improve my mood and lifts the anxiety, I do still get anxiety but the valium curbs most of it.

Lyrica (pregabalin) is a mood stabiliser and is great for anxiety, it has a fast onset of action (you don't usually have to wait weeks for it to work), it is brilliant. I prefer it over the ''addictive'' ones any day, i'm on the maximum dose , 600mg a day.

Zyprexa, which is an anti psychotic and great for anxiety works well for me too, i take between 20-30mg a night which is a massive dose but my doctor is happy enough with me taking it. It improves my mood too and makes me a bit drowsy which is why I take it at night.