Looking for Hope....

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by sp76, May 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sp76

sp76 Member

I think when most people look at me, they see a confident person who is in control of his life. On some aspects of that, this is true; I hold down a stable job, I take care of the physical needs of my family. Other than that, nothing holds true. I have been suffering from PTSD all my life, and as of late have tried all therapies out there and currently doing more therapy. I have been close to death's front door on many occassions, not more that I wish to die, but more that I wish to live without the pain that is over me. Yeah, I know probably does not make much sense. I just wish for one good night of sleep, wish just for one days with no flashback memories of my past traumatic history. I am a soldier/a fighter fighting a war within that never ends. I come here looking for solace/peace and nothing more.

2. jimk

jimk Staff Alumni

hi sp76 and welcome. got some stuff in common with you.. just leave it at that.. i live for my disabled soh most of the time.. understand way too well the flashbacks, the night terrors and all of htat.. i found the rite thereapist about 13 yrs ago. being with her taught me that most people are good people ... and not going to hurt me more.. the flashbacks and the terror is much better these days.. also the dissociations much better now.. say this to you that maybe you too will start to feel safe most times and able to leave yoru past in the past finally..

it still comes back when you least want it but not as hurting then.. people tell me that forgiving the abusers is necessary.. can not do that but now just realize they were fucked up people and do not hate anymore... hope you find some relief and have some good restful deep untroubled sleep sojmetimes.. Jim

3. 1Lefty

1Lefty Well-Known Member