Lost and scared.

Discussion in 'Rants, Musings and Ideas' started by HawkHood, Oct 25, 2014.

1. HawkHood

HawkHood Active Member

I just need to put my thoughts down. I hope that's ok.

I have a “crisis of confidence” lately … I was developing a fairly complex website content management system (PHP/Javascript/etc) from scratch a while ago that I've returned to lately and know the code engine I have is good, but I got so wrapped up in the other sites (one in particular) that I've been working ion in the last year. I just keep feeling really dissociated from what I've done, as though somebody else wrote everything.

For some reason I can’t wrap my brain around my own work. I feel like a failure for not being good enough anymore. It’s like yet another reminder of how much I fail. I never even intended to end up where I am... I studied neuroscience and I'm doing THIS? I’m 33 next month and I’m basically a useless bum.

I’m also just really very low lately. My sleep is horribly disturbed. I don’t know if it’s sleepwalking or a facet of DID, but I never know who I will be when I wake up. I mean that literally. I know that I have a period of time where I hold a completely separate set of ideas about where I am, who I am, and memories. Sometimes those aren’t just dreams, but the experiences are very real, in as much as it’s like erasing years of my life and waking up regressed to a certain time and place. It's confusing, and upsetting. Sometimes I lose a couple of hours in the day as well, especially when I'm anxious and I can't stop it from happening.

It’s gotten worse since the therapy I was receiving was put on hold by the NHS a couple of months ago. I can feel myself slipping sometimes and the best I can do is replay some of the exercises that we did in therapy and spend some time where I sort of “listen” to one alter especially, but it’s painful and difficult to guide those experiences and not lose control :(