• Please read the thread in Forum News and Announcements pertaining to race related discussion on SF - thank you :)

Lost contact

lightning05

About 7 years ago when I was in college I made a really good friend at one of my part time jobs. He didn't go to the same college as me and was about 4 years older. I remember when we first met it was one of those instant connections that doesn't happen often. At our job orientation as soon as our eyes met we knew we'd be friends and we would always talk about that moment. We got close quickly and hung out all the time before I graduated and moved 2,000+ miles away. I went back to visit family and friends a year after I moved and we saw each other and hung out like old times. We didn't talk every day but we kept in touch, talking every month or so.

Some time on 2017 the calls began to be less frequent on his end with me calling him more often than he called me. A lot of the times we talked he sounded as though he were very high and out of it. After not hearing from him for a few months towards the end of the year he called me to tell me that he had lost his job and been abusing drugs but was trying to get clean. I was really supportive of him and was being encouraging about the rehab program he signed up for. For a few months we kept in touch like normal and everything was okay.

Then again, after a few months of not talking and him not answering my calls or texts I finally reached him at the beginning of last year and he did not sound good. The few times we talked he sounded either down and depressed or irritable. The last time we talked I was trying really hard to make conversation but he sounded distant and said he'd call me the next day and I have not heard from him since.