Lost My Passions

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by Godsdrummer, Mar 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Godsdrummer

Godsdrummer Guest

Back when life was "good" I used to be passionate about a lot of things. I had hobbies and talents that nowadays I seem to have no interest in. Things that I would have never thought in all my days that I would loose interest in. I am certain that it is my depression that is the cause of this.

For example. I started playing drums at the tender age of 12. Since then I have marched in 3 different drum and bugle corps. Performed in the high school jazz band, pep band, marching band. Performed in my universities wind ensemble, pep bad, marching band. Have been a member of 2 rock bands and even released a 45lp back in 1987.

KISS. They are not just a rock band but a way of life. A living community kind of like dead heads. I was a Moderator at a KISS forum, and lost that position due to this depression. I have my own Peter Criss fan site. It has gone downhill due to this depression.

Golf-I loved to golf. Not anymore.

All I want to do now, is spend time wity my kids when I can, drink, play video games and sleep. Oh and smoke like a fiend and eat.

That's it.

Just venting I guess....but am curious, have any of you guys lost your passion in the things you used to enjoy?
  2. Scum

Scum Well-Known Member

Depression is good at that. Those things though may not have gone for good though, hopefully when you beat your depression you will find you can be passionate about things again.

Are you seeking help for your depression?
  3. Godsdrummer

Godsdrummer Guest

I am on meds.
  4. Scum

Scum Well-Known Member

Have they helped?
  5. Stranger1

Stranger1 Forum Buddy & Antiquities Friend