Lots of feelings, Few places to put them

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by CrowsCounted, Jan 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CrowsCounted

CrowsCounted Member

Hey everybody, this is my first time on the forum, its nice to see so many compassionate people coming together to give each other strength. Depression and anxiety are very prevalent in my family tree and in my direct family. I've spent most of my life (im 21 now) being the son who supposedly dodged the mental illness bullet, however through closer inspection over the past years it has become apparent that this is not the case. Depression was mostly a self-diagnosis I gave to myself to justify years of pessimistic attitude and faltering motivation. After really seeing just one psychological professional this was confirmed. Ive found that amongst even the closest of friends, suicide is not a topic that is open to discussion. I think that is because the idea of losing someone close is too overpowering to talk about without becoming very emotional. The most strength and stability that I've found in someone else regarding suicide was actually through two friends who had, and i assume do, experience those suicidal thoughts at times. The beauty of it was that they didn't tell me things like "you have so much to live for"(although I acknowledge that those who say that mean it and DO care) Instead I found that they actually felt very similar to me, and had many of the same thoughts on their own accord. It is great to feel that at least you aren't alone, especially when you walk through everyday watching people who seem so happy. People who seem happy not because something good happened to them, but because they simply see the world through different eyes. I can't count the times I've been told that it's my perspective which is off (as if i didn't already know that lol). I am currently taking wellbutrin, which seems to give me a little more energy sometimes, not eno